For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

On January 10, Rector Magnificus Karen Maex signed an agreement on behalf of the UvA which strengthens the cooperation between EPICUR partners.

The EPICUR partnership, an alliance of European Universities, began in November 2019. This agreement confirms the support of the European Commission and strengthens cooperation within EPICUR. The aim is to become an attractive, innovative European university geared towards a new generation of European citizens, ready to face the great societal challenges of the Europe of tomorrow.

International university

People from over 100 different nationalities study and work at the UvA. We want to attract talented international students and academics and invest in exchange, research networks and global relationships. International networks and cooperation contribute to this. The UvA is part of a number of prestigious, international networks of collaborating universities: EPICUR, the League of European Research Universities (LERU) and Universitas 21 (U21).


The UvA is a member of EPICUR alongside seven other European universities. EPICUR is an alliance to develop an innovative ‘European university', for the new generation of European citizens, ready to face Europe’s great societal challenges. The European Commission has awarded a subsidy of €5 million over three years. In addition to education in the field of European languages ​​and regions, Liberal Arts and Sciences are central to the joint development of innovative forms of education. One of the long-term goals is to create a European Bachelor’s in Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The pilot phase will take place during the first three years. There are six pilot activities, each of which is led by one of the partners. The UvA will lead the activity aimed at promoting multilingualism and inclusive governance.

EPICUR partners

The EPICUR alliance brings together eight partners and is led by the University of Strasbourg. The partner institutions, in addition to the UvA and the University of Strasbourg, are: Adam-Mickiewicz University of Poznań (Poland), Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece), University of Freiburg (Germany), University of Haute-Alsace (France), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany) and the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences (Austria).